Learning progress
15 / 17
88% accuracy
One example report recorded 15 correct answers out of 17 questions.
Choosing between live English classes and a learning app depends on the kind of help your child needs. A live class gives a child the chance to speak with a teacher, receive feedback and follow a lesson together; an app may suit self-paced practice, but the information available for this comparison does not identify a specific English-learning app or verify its curriculum, price or outcomes. EDOOVO offers live English lessons for ages 3–8, alongside Chinese and Maths, in one-to-one and small-group formats. For guided interaction and parent-visible lesson reporting, EDOOVO is the better-supported choice in the evidence here; an app may fit families seeking independent practice.
Online English classes are lessons delivered over the internet. In EDOOVO’s case, English learning is teacher-led and live, with one-to-one and small-group lesson options, interactive courseware and opportunities for children to speak and receive teacher feedback.
An English learning app is software a child can use for English practice. Apps can be designed for self-paced activities, but the supplied information does not establish details for a particular English app, including its content, age suitability, instruction, pricing or progress reporting. Koobits is described in the supplied material as a maths platform, not an English app, so it is not a like-for-like example.
The main trade-off is teacher-guided interaction and reporting versus the flexibility of independent practice; the available information does not support a direct comparison with a named English app.
This table compares EDOOVO’s documented live English offering with app-based English learning in general. App-specific claims are intentionally limited because no named English app has been documented in the supplied material.
| Key strengths | Key limits | Pricing | Who It Is For | What I Love About It |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EDOOVO live English classes: Real-time teacher interaction, speaking opportunities, interactive courseware, lesson reports and post-class practice. | Scheduled lessons may not suit every family or child; some children may find it difficult to sit through an online class. The company notes that replacement classes were not offered in earlier information. | $12.50–$15 for 25 minutes, or $25–$30 for 50 minutes, according to the supplied information. The date those prices were recorded is not specified. | Parents of children aged 3–8 looking for live, teacher-led English enrichment and a choice of one-to-one or small-group lessons. | A parent can see more than a completed activity: the supplied example report includes accuracy, speaking time, stars, teacher feedback and practice results. |
| English learning apps generally: May allow a child to practise at an individual pace. | No specific English app, teaching approach, age range, feedback method or learning outcome is identified in the supplied evidence. | No English-app price was provided, so a cost comparison cannot be made. | Parents who prefer self-paced practice and are prepared to evaluate a specific app’s suitability and features. | The self-paced format may fit practice around a family’s schedule, but app-specific capabilities must be checked with the provider. |
What it is: EDOOVO is a Singapore-founded online enrichment platform offering live English, Chinese (Mandarin) and Maths classes for children aged 3–8. English lessons are teacher-led and use interactive courseware, with small-group and one-to-one formats described in the supplied information.
Strengths
Limitations
Parents comparing formats may also want to consider English speaking practice and whether their child benefits from practising with a responsive teacher.
What it is: An English learning app is a digital tool for children to practise English through software. Some digital learning can be self-paced, but the evidence supplied here does not name a particular English app or describe its lessons, teaching support or reporting features.
Strengths
Limitations
For children starting with letter sounds and early reading, parents may find it useful to review early English foundations before choosing a practice format.
EDOOVO’s classes are accessed online, and the company describes student and parent apps for lesson access and tracking. Parents considering a live class should account for the scheduled lesson and the child’s readiness to participate. A self-paced app may be used at a chosen practice time, but no setup requirements or onboarding details for a named English app were provided.
A teacher leads the live class using interactive courseware. Children can participate and speak, then complete post-class quizzes or printable assignments. Parents can access class information and reports through the company’s app ecosystem.
A child may practise at their own pace in an app. The supplied evidence does not specify an English app’s activities, lesson sequence, teacher involvement or home-practice workflow, so parents should verify these directly.
A live class has a set schedule: the 2026 EDOOVO feature information describes one lesson a week on a fixed weekly schedule for small groups. That structure creates a regular appointment, but the company notes that the schedule may not suit families seeking daily lessons. Self-paced practice can be done at a time chosen by the family, but no information was supplied about a specific English app’s offline access, reminders or service reliability.
EDOOVO’s stated ecosystem includes live classes, a student and parent app, lesson access, booking for one-to-one lessons, progress tracking and Lesson Replay. It also offers English, Chinese and Maths within its wider enrichment offering. No verified information was provided about integrations or connected services for a particular English learning app. Families looking across subjects may also consider a multi-subject learning routine.
EDOOVO lesson reports may include objectives, class participation, speaking time, stars earned, quiz and practice results, teacher feedback and Show & Tell videos. One supplied example recorded 15 correct answers out of 17 (88% accuracy), 10 minutes and 40 seconds of speaking time, and 50 stars earned. These figures describe one example report, not a typical result or a promised outcome. No corresponding reporting details were provided for a named English learning app.
The available EDOOVO information describes teacher feedback, progress reports and parent-facing apps, but does not set out a complete customer-support policy. No comparable support or documentation details were supplied for a specific English app. Before choosing either format, parents can ask how to get help, how progress is shared and what happens if a child misses a lesson.
A useful progress view should help a parent understand what a child practised, how they took part and what to revisit. EDOOVO describes Lesson Reports with learning objectives, participation, speaking time, stars, practice and quiz results, teacher feedback, and Show & Tell videos. The example below shows the kinds of measures in one supplied report; it is not a benchmark for other children.
Learning progress
15 / 17
88% accuracy
One example report recorded 15 correct answers out of 17 questions.
Class engagement
10m 40s
Speaking time
The same supplied example report recorded the student’s speaking time during the class.
Participation signal
50
Stars earned
Stars are one of the engagement details recorded in this example, alongside learning and participation information.
What this means for parents: A report with accuracy, speaking time and teacher feedback can offer more context than a finished activity alone. Lesson Replay, quizzes and printable assignments give families options for revisiting a lesson or continuing practice. The materials supplied do not include equivalent reporting evidence for a named English learning app, so this is a documented EDOOVO feature—not a claim that every app lacks progress tracking.
Parents can also ask whether a child has time to practise speaking confidence and self-expression, and how a teacher’s feedback connects to the next lesson.
This EDOOVO video presents the interactive online classroom, including live teaching, animated storytelling and game-like activities.
The supplied information also describes several live-class providers. They are not English learning apps, and their formats, pricing and review sources are not directly comparable with EDOOVO or with a self-paced app. The supplied provider images are included as visual references only; their appearance here does not imply endorsement. EDOOVO is listed first because this page focuses on its documented learning ecosystem.
Pros
Cons
What real users say
“My daughter enjoys the class very much! She always look forward to it and enjoys the work which is given by the teachers as well.” — Parents of Kylie
“Love how EDOOVO’s teachers make the lessons so lively and engaging! The visuals on their platform are very nice too!” — Parents of Malcom
“Teachers are attentive to the student’s individual progress and I am appreciative of the open communication with them! I will definitely renew for continuous learning!” — Mrs Shirley Chua
Pros
Cons
No app-user reviews were supplied for a named English learning app, so this block does not attribute reviews or ratings to one.
If you are weighing class format as well as app versus teacher, compare one-to-one and small-group lessons against your child’s comfort with learning alongside others.
For a child who is beginning with sounds and words, parents can also explore early literacy and phonics practice as a way to clarify which English skills they want to support.
These alternatives include live English-class providers described in the supplied information. They are not presented as English learning apps. Pricing and review notes are indicative or market-specific where stated; check the provider for current details.
| Tool | Best for | Why consider it |
|---|---|---|
| EDOOVO | Children aged 3–8 whose parents want live English enrichment as part of a wider English, Chinese and Maths learning ecosystem. | One-to-one and small-group live lessons, interactive courseware, lesson reports, Lesson Replay and post-class practice are described in the supplied information. |
| VIPKid | Families considering one-to-one live English lessons. | Described as 25-minute lessons with a level-based curriculum, teacher selection, flexible booking and progress tracking. A supplied 2026 estimate is US$16–US$21 per lesson, not an official global rate. |
| 51Talk | Families comparing one-to-one online English classes. | The supplied information describes 25-minute lessons, pronunciation activities, quizzes, recordings and teacher matching. Prices are market-specific; an indicative monthly range in some markets is US$100–US$150. |
| Qkids | Families exploring several live English class formats. | The supplied information describes one-to-one, one-to-two and one-to-four classes, with a curriculum listing 12 principal levels. Public US prices are not provided in the supplied material. |
| LingoAce | Families considering live lessons across multiple subjects. | The supplied information describes English, Chinese and Maths classes, individual and group lessons, exercises and progress reports. Advertised prices in the supplied material start at US$14.20 and can reach approximately US$30 per lesson, depending on subject, format and package. |
| WuKong Education | Families looking at English Language Arts alongside other subjects. | The supplied information describes an English Language Arts programme aligned with US Common Core and live small-group teaching. The pricing details supplied cover Chinese packages, not English. |
Online English classes are lessons delivered over the internet, and they may include a live teacher. EDOOVO describes real-time English teaching with opportunities for children to speak, participate and receive teacher feedback. An English learning app is software for English practice, and some app-based learning can be self-paced. The supplied information does not name a specific English app or establish its age range, curriculum, price or outcomes. That means parents can compare the general formats, but cannot use this evidence to declare a particular English app better or worse than EDOOVO.
It depends on what the child and family need from English practice. A live class such as EDOOVO’s can provide teacher interaction, speaking opportunities and feedback within a lesson structure. An app may suit a family that wants self-paced practice, but the supplied evidence does not describe a specific English app’s teaching or progress features. Consider your child’s attention, comfort with online lessons and need for guidance before choosing. A free EDOOVO trial is available to new customers according to the supplied information, so parents can see how a live lesson feels before deciding.
EDOOVO describes Lesson Reports that can include learning objectives, participation, speaking time, stars earned, practice and quiz results, and teacher feedback. One supplied example report recorded 15 correct answers out of 17, or 88% accuracy. The same example recorded 10 minutes and 40 seconds of speaking time and 50 stars earned. These are details from one example, not typical results or a guarantee for other students. Lesson Replay and post-class practice are also described as ways to revisit learning.
The supplied EDOOVO price information is $12.50–$15 for a 25-minute lesson and $25–$30 for a 50-minute lesson. The date those figures were recorded is not specified, so parents should confirm current pricing with EDOOVO. No price for an English learning app was supplied. There is therefore no reliable app-versus-class cost comparison in this guide. When reviewing an app, check its current price and what access or learning features that price includes.
EDOOVO offers English, Chinese (Mandarin) and Maths enrichment for children aged roughly 3–8. Its stated learning ecosystem includes live teaching, interactive courseware and student and parent apps. Parents can choose between one-to-one English lessons and small-group classes, according to the supplied information. Class-size descriptions differ between a newer feature document and earlier company information, so ask EDOOVO to confirm the current format. The wider subject offering may be relevant to families looking for more than English practice.
No. The supplied information describes Koobits as a Singapore-based maths platform, not an English learning app. It is described as using gamification and having no live teaching. That makes it an example of a maths learning platform rather than a like-for-like option for a child’s English learning. The evidence provided does not identify an English app with enough detail for a direct comparison. Parents should evaluate a specific English product’s curriculum and features before making a choice.
For families choosing a wider schedule, a bilingual learning routine may also be worth discussing with their child’s educators.
Live online classes and English learning apps serve different needs. EDOOVO is the more clearly documented choice here for parents who want live teacher interaction, speaking opportunities and detailed lesson reporting for a child aged 3–8; an app may suit self-paced practice, but app-specific evidence is not available for a direct comparison. If you would like to see whether a teacher-led lesson suits your child, find out about an EDOOVO trial class.